Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Summer of the Monkeys

by Wilson Rawls

eBook

0 of 1 copy available

For fans of Old Yeller and Shiloh, Summer of the Monkeys is another childhood favorite from the beloved author of the bestelling novel Where the Red Fern Grows.
The last thing fourteen-year-old Jay Berry Lee expects to find while trekking through the Ozark Mountains of Oklahoma is a tree full of monkeys. But then Jay learns from his grandpa that the monkeys have escaped from a traveling circus and there's a big reward for the person who finds and returns them.
His family could really use the money, so Jay sets off, determined to catch them. But by the end of the summer, Jay will have learned a lot more than he bargained for—and not just about monkeys.
From the beloved author of Where the Red Fern Grows, comes another memorable adventure novel filled with heart, humor, and excitement over the course of one extraordinary summer.
Praise for Wilson Rawls' Where the Red Fern Grows

A Top 100 Children's Novel, School Library Journal
A Must-Read for Kids 9 to 14, NPR
Winner of 4 State Awards
Over 7 million copies in print!

"A rewarding book . . . [with] careful, precise observation, all of it rightly phrased." —The New York Times Book Review

"One of the great classics of children's literature . . . Any child who doesn't get to read this beloved and powerfully emotional book has missed out on an important piece of childhood for the last 40-plus years." —Common Sense Media

"An exciting tale of love and adventure you'll never forget." —School Library Journal

"A book of unadorned naturalness." —Kirkus Reviews

"Written with so much feeling and sentiment that adults as well as children are drawn [in] with a passion." —Arizona Daily Star

"It's a story about a young boy and his two hunting dogs and . . . I can't even go on without getting a little misty." —The Huffington Post

Expand title description text
Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Kindle Book

  • Release date: December 29, 2010

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780307781550
  • Release date: December 29, 2010

EPUB eBook

  • ISBN: 9780307781550
  • File size: 483 KB
  • Release date: December 29, 2010


Loading

0 of 1 copy available

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB eBook

Languages

English

Levels

ATOS: 4.8
Lexile® Measure: 810
Interest Level: 4-8(MG)

For fans of Old Yeller and Shiloh, Summer of the Monkeys is another childhood favorite from the beloved author of the bestelling novel Where the Red Fern Grows.
The last thing fourteen-year-old Jay Berry Lee expects to find while trekking through the Ozark Mountains of Oklahoma is a tree full of monkeys. But then Jay learns from his grandpa that the monkeys have escaped from a traveling circus and there's a big reward for the person who finds and returns them.
His family could really use the money, so Jay sets off, determined to catch them. But by the end of the summer, Jay will have learned a lot more than he bargained for—and not just about monkeys.
From the beloved author of Where the Red Fern Grows, comes another memorable adventure novel filled with heart, humor, and excitement over the course of one extraordinary summer.
Praise for Wilson Rawls' Where the Red Fern Grows

A Top 100 Children's Novel, School Library Journal
A Must-Read for Kids 9 to 14, NPR
Winner of 4 State Awards
Over 7 million copies in print!

"A rewarding book . . . [with] careful, precise observation, all of it rightly phrased." —The New York Times Book Review

"One of the great classics of children's literature . . . Any child who doesn't get to read this beloved and powerfully emotional book has missed out on an important piece of childhood for the last 40-plus years." —Common Sense Media

"An exciting tale of love and adventure you'll never forget." —School Library Journal

"A book of unadorned naturalness." —Kirkus Reviews

"Written with so much feeling and sentiment that adults as well as children are drawn [in] with a passion." —Arizona Daily Star

"It's a story about a young boy and his two hunting dogs and . . . I can't even go on without getting a little misty." —The Huffington Post

Expand title description text