Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Summer of the Monkeys

by Wilson Rawls

eBook

1 of 1 copy available

Read a sample Read a sample
From the author of the beloved classic Where the Red Fern Grows, comes an adventure novel, perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan and Crenshaw, about a boy, a tree full of monkeys, and one unforgettable summer.
The last thing a fourteen-year-old boy expects to find along an old Ozark river bottom is a tree full of monkeys. Jay Berry Lee's grandpa had an explanation, of course—as he did for most things. The monkeys had escaped from a traveling circus, and there was a handsome reward in store for anyone who could catch them. Grandpa said there wasn't any animal that couldn't be caught somehow, and Jay Berry started out believing him . . .
But by the end of the "summer of the monkeys," Jay Berry Lee had learned a lot more than he ever bargained for—and not just about monkeys. He learned about faith, and wishes coming true, and knowing what it is you really want. He even learned a little about growing up . . .
This novel, set in rural Oklahoma around the turn of the century, is a heart-warming family story—full of rich detail and delightful characters—about a time and place when miracles were really the simplest of things...

Expand title description text
Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Kindle Book

  • Release date: December 29, 2010

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780307781550
  • Release date: December 29, 2010

EPUB eBook

  • ISBN: 9780307781550
  • File size: 483 KB
  • Release date: December 29, 2010


Loading

1 of 1 copy available

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB eBook

Languages

English

Levels

ATOS: 4.8
Lexile® Measure: 810
Interest Level: 4-8(MG)

From the author of the beloved classic Where the Red Fern Grows, comes an adventure novel, perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan and Crenshaw, about a boy, a tree full of monkeys, and one unforgettable summer.
The last thing a fourteen-year-old boy expects to find along an old Ozark river bottom is a tree full of monkeys. Jay Berry Lee's grandpa had an explanation, of course—as he did for most things. The monkeys had escaped from a traveling circus, and there was a handsome reward in store for anyone who could catch them. Grandpa said there wasn't any animal that couldn't be caught somehow, and Jay Berry started out believing him . . .
But by the end of the "summer of the monkeys," Jay Berry Lee had learned a lot more than he ever bargained for—and not just about monkeys. He learned about faith, and wishes coming true, and knowing what it is you really want. He even learned a little about growing up . . .
This novel, set in rural Oklahoma around the turn of the century, is a heart-warming family story—full of rich detail and delightful characters—about a time and place when miracles were really the simplest of things...

Expand title description text